Ha, that made you look, didn’t it? Unfortunately it is entirely false pretenses, as there is nothing salacious in this post. I have not turned to swinging in my dotage, nor is there some scandal to be exposed, if you pardon the pun, among the geriatrics on NSW’s sunny Central Coast.

What I adulterate is patterns, and first up I want to apologise to all you wonderful indie designers who publish very professionally drafted patterns, which no doubt are thoroughly tested before you publish for sale. You don’t deserve my meddling, but that doesn’t mean that I will stop doing it. I can’t draft a pattern to save myself, but I sure can’t help but play around with patterns made by those who can.

A classic example is the Tessuti Lily Linen dress dress. 

  
I have only ever used the sleeveless version, as the sleeves don’t seem to suit my narrow, but very square shoulders, but I sure have made this pattern a lot with every variation I could think of. Let me see:

Maxi length

  • 2 in linen
  • 1 in cotton interlock
  • 1 in a wool double knit
  • 1 in a viscose knit
  • 2 cotton voile underdresses/slips

Original length

  • 1 in cotton with tucks
  • 1 in batik
  • 1 in cotton sateen as a bubble dress

And that isn’t even mentioning the tunics. You can see that this pattern was $10 extremely well spent. Here are some pics.

image

This was my first maxi, in a beefy linen, and I was experimenting with the hem. Below is the final version. You turn the sides back at the side seams about 20cm, then have a button and loop arrangement to hold them there. You could just stitch it down, but that makes ironing difficult. You can also wear one side up if you want. The details are here.

image

Another version of the same, in a linen batik I bought in Bali (for peanuts!).

image

Next a tucked variation. This is maxi length, but the tucks make it shorter. I also extended the shoulders into cap sleeves. Underneath is another maxi Lily, as an underdress/slip. For details see here.

image

A bubble dress, achieved by shortening the Lily to 90cm, then drafting a bottom skirt piece from the hem turned upside down. A better explanation is here.

image

Another maxi version, this time in a knit. I love the hippie vibe, but the dark brown cotton interlock is already fading after a couple of washes. I will need to overdye it if I want to keep wearing it. My TNT t-shirt pattern was used for the bodice part and sleeves.

image

And finally a tunic tunic version with a cowl.

image

Oh, and before I forget: I always cut the back of the Lily on the selvages, not on the fold, and do a topstitched CB seam. This not only saves a lot of fabric, but it also gives you a nice vertical line at the back, which is slimming.
Link back to Rums

