Well, actually, too much is just that, TOO MUCH. I would do well to remember this, as I am the sort of person who is always inclined to push the envelope, and there are times when I overdo it.

I know pretty much all of Lagenlook looks overdone to someone with more conservative taste buds. People talk of ‘the clothes wearing them’ or that they feel like a child playing dress ups with grown-up’s clothes. I could never understand that. Well, at last I do.

DSC00004

Need I say more?

DSC00015

Probably not.

Fortunately these are pyjamas, so the general public will never be any the wiser. And I absolutely love wearing them. As a matter of fact, I can barely wait to get into them at the end of the day because they are so comfortable. Not to mentions heavenly to sleep in. So all is not lost and I won’t be getting out my seam ripper. I should also mention that I need my pyjamas to preserve my modesty, as I don’t own a dressing gown. So I want them to cover me from head to foot, a requirement the above garments certainly take very seriously.

I made them out of a beautiful cotton sheet that was languishing in the back of my linen press because it is the wrong size for our bed. Difficult to see in the photo, but it is a lovely soft floral print with poppies. Yum. It will get a lot more wear this way than it ever would as a sheet. But I have a doona cover that is even prettier, that also doesn’t get used, and that I am planning to make it into sleep wear too. But I am going to have to come up with another style. 🙂

The scary thing is that the pyjamas looked quite ok just looking at myself in the mirror. This has once again confirmed my conviction that the mirror does not tell you the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth.

My home-baked theory why goes as follows. When you look at something, let’s say at a person standing in a room, you think you see all of this picture the same way, they way you would see it if it was a photo. But you don’t. The human eye can only see a small patch of the whole in focus, and it can only concentrate on this small patch at any one time. Of course you move your eyes around and your brain puts it all together for you, so you think you see the whole picture clearly.

But if you look at a photo, the photo is small. Chances are, that the whole photo will fit into that patch of your vision that is in focus. The person in the photo will be even smaller, so the chances to see this person in focus are even better.

But when you stand in front of the mirror, you can only concentrate on bits and pieces of the picture in turn. You never really see the whole clearly. Your brain puts it together for you, but it may be inaccurate. This is why dressing room mirrors are so deceptive. You get a better idea of how something looks on you if there is a mirror outside, where you can look at yourself from a distance.

The same applies to your mirror at home. If you have one where you can stand far enough away so the image in the mirror is quite small, you will get a much better idea of how you look. My mirror unfortunately is not in a position where I can stand far enough away, and at the moment this is not fixable. I will have to wait for another year until we have done our extensions and I have more room. Until then it looks like I am well advised to take a photo before hitting the great outdoors in one of my new creations if I don’t want to risk looking ridiculous.

Here is a more restrained version of the PJs.

  

 

