Corduroy is back, ist that great! I’m really quite thrilled as I really like the way it looks, plus it is nice and toasty for winter. (June is winter in the southern hemisphere, just to remind everyone.)

Corduroy combined with the new barrel leg shape sounded like a great idea to me. I used the So Liberated Arthur pattern, completely ignoring the designers fabric recommendations.

The pattern is supposed to be made in linen, or some other softish fabric

Of course with corduroy, all those little gathers at the waist are not going to work. Plus a lot of the volume had to go. I sized two sizes down and took out more volume at the sides and the centre leg seams. The waistband is strip of a matching cotton, because all those layers of corduroy weren’t going to happen. To make the elasticised waist sit as snugly as possible, I made the width a few cm narrower than the widest point of my hips. This still allows me to wriggle into it, but removes as much fabric as possible from bunching at the waist.

My modded version ended up more like the StyleArc Bob pants with centre leg seams and I have lost the exaggerated width at the lower part of the leg, but the pants look good and are very comfy to wear. Shame the corduroy doesn’t photograph all that well, but it’s a mid-whale weight and quite beefy. I have combined it with a short top that accentuates the barrel shape.